Encounter with elephants in Lumimba


I wanted to go to Chipuka Gate, inside Luambe National Park, to check if the road was passable. Two students from Lumimba Day Secondary School were with me. I decided to reach the first bridge and check if the water had dried out. There were only a few rough places due to hippos and elephants.
Before reaching the first river bed, moving slowly, I was admiring some antelopes, beautiful birds and baboons while appreciating the beauty of God’s creation. We were moving closer to the Luangwa River and we could see some animals drinking and hippos making gymnastics in the waters. Suddenly, I heard the boys screaming. I looked on my left side and I saw a huge elephant charging towards the car. Then, I look on my right side and saw three elephants approaching very fast towards us. We were surrounded on both sides. Confused, I had to act quickly. I wanted to switch off the car engine. The boys told me immediately not to do so as the elephants were coming with sharp loud noise. When reaching my door side, the boys urged me to move. I immediately engaged the gear on a rough road full of potholes. I speeded up and managed to move 10km per hours. The elephants were relentless and approaching fearlessly. Providentially, they started slowing down. I was terribly scared. It was actually the first time since I came to Lumimba to encounter elephants at such a closer range. Luckily, the first elephant on the left side stopped chasing us and the others eventually stopped too. But still, I couldn’t drive very fast. I was just jumping up and down. I never looked behind or in the mirror.
elephantFew minutes later, we reached the bridge and found that the Ministry of Health have put logs nicely and cars were passing without problems. I remained scared, checking all sides of the road till Chipuka Gate. Surely my blood pressure and adrenaline might have gone high. Once more, my experience in Lumimba has been marked by an exciting experience! For sure, we must have come at a wrong time even though it was in the middle of the day. I can still see their huge ears and hear their terrific noise.
I am still under shock when writing my story. I am thankful to the students who saw the elephants in good time. This has been an exclusive experience and shall be archived in Lumimba Diary. Funny enough, I am looking forward going back to Chasera next week, using the same route. Wow! God save us!
United in the same mission, let us pray for each other.
Fr. Phelim Mutambekwa Malumo M.Afr

Leave a comment