Chilubi incident, Northern Rhodesia – March 1959


Dear Fr Udelhoven,
Two years ago (almost to the day!) you put me in touch with Fr Richard at the archives of the White Fathers in Rome. I was researching an incident that occurred on Chilubi Island in March 1959.  Fr Richards was able to send me several documents which were exactly what I needed to enable me to progress, and now finish my researches on this event.
I have sent a copy of my text to Fr Richard, and I now enclose a copy for you since you are the “man on the spot”, so to speak!
Perhaps it may find a place in your archives.
With best wishes,
Yours sincerely, Neil Morris
With the permission of the author: FULL TEXT

War_Medal_modifié-1Note: following the incident of Chilubi Island, on the 4th December 1959, Her Majesty the Queen had been graciously pleased to approve the award of the George Medal to the Rev. Father Augustin Boumier of the Santa Maria Mission, Chilubi Island.

Note 2: Father Augustin Boumier died at Chilubula in Zambia on the 4th December 1970 at the age of 63. He was from Angers, France.

Leave a comment