Venerato Deus Babaine, M.Afr


Venerato Babaine 2014I am a Ugandan from Mbarara Archdiocese of the Western Uganda. I was born on January 12, 1966. After my Secondary Education I joined the formation of the Missionaries of Africa in 1988. I spent the study of the philosophical studies at Kahangala in Magu, Tanzania (1988-91), spiritual Year at Kasama (1991-92), apostolic training at St. Peter’s parish – Serenje, Zambia (1992-94). I did theological studies in Nairobi (Tangaza College). I made the oath and diaconate in 1997. My ordination was at my home parish of Ibanda, in 1998. Then I was appointed to the then Province of Zambia.
I started my missionary life after ordination at Lubwe Mission of Mansa diocese (1998-2001). I was the last of the M.Afr community to hand-over Lubwe to the Diocesan Priests. After my maiden home leave I was appointed to a new parish of St. Anne’s New Town-Kasama as a Parish Priest (2001-2005). My experience as a missionary in Zambia was parish pastoral ministry. It was also marked by the video production of the documentaries about the missionary work of the Missionaries of Africa which was concluded in 2005. From 2005 to 2010 I did my home-service in Uganda and worked as vocation promoter and missionary awareness animator. From 2010 to 2012 I did some on-going formation and followed some renewal programmes including spirituality and languages. During that time I had missionary encounters in Ireland, France, the DRC and Burundi. I have also been on the team of the on-going formators for M.Afr. English speaking young confreres. Since April 2013 I have been at the M.Afr house in Nyegezi, Mwanza in Tanzania doing some chaplaincy and followed a course of Clinical Pastoral Education at Buganda Medical University Teaching Hospital. While following treatment for my back in 2012 and 2013 in Nairobi I also helped to handle some assignments in the EAP Provincial’s office at occasions I was requested to do so.
Years from 2005 to 2013 were full of exposures, discoveries, ventures and deep reflection for me in areas of spirituality and academics. I shared ecological spirituality in retreats and seminars. I read an M.A in Human Rights & Governance and got involved in advocacy and a social education for development. I did a research in Field Ecological conservation to improve the livelihoods of less privileged communities and promoted tree planting and water conservation. I developed my hobbies for nature and integrity of creation. He is a full member of NatureUganda organisation that has a mandated in East Africa to promote environmental sustainability.
In a short time I move to SAP for another missionary experience.

4 thoughts on “Venerato Deus Babaine, M.Afr

  1. Pingback: Zambian Sector Assembly, Jan 22-23, 2014 and farewell to Father Henk van der Steen | Missionaries of Africa – SAP Province

  2. JANE NJERI CHEGE

    It is really great reading about Fr. Babaine and his success. May God be praised! His will has really been done. I was in the youth club in South B at Our Lady Queen of Peace Nairobi Kenya and it was a pleasure working with him. I am not sure if he can remember me. It will be an honour talking with him again. Stay Bless always all ways.

  3. Pingback: Documentary Video: The Earth Our Home – conservation for integrity of creation – Missionaries of Africa – SAP Province

Leave a comment